Finding those quiet moments of escapism

I’m pleased to report that my take on Dry January continues to be successful; it’s now been just over two weeks.  I haven’t missed it, but I did however miss the announcement of a good friends’ daughter being born – luckily my wife fills me in from time to time on the meaningful.

I’ve been reading about escapism and mindfulness recently and it’s interesting that the former can have negative connotations.  For instance, our attempt at escapism may in fact be us trying to avoid responsibility or reality; often in the form of procrastination.  This will vary for everyone but being immersed in our iPhone or iPad, constant thumbing through social media news feeds, video games, rubbish TV, etc.  Now don’t get me wrong after a tough day at work or a bad night with the baby, these are much needed and essential sometimes!

However, these activities and many others are now our norm and reality.  You only have to walk down the road and realise that 9 out of 10 people are walking head down, looking at their phone.  So escapism and mindfulness is attempting to take time off and away from these activities; rather allowing the mind and our consciousness to expand and not be preoccupied and therefore limited.

“To understand the immeasurable, the mind must be extraordinarily quiet, still.”

 Jiddu Krishnamurti

I’m fortunate enough to work in a London office only a stones throw away from the Tate Modern.  Where possible I always try to get away from my desk at lunch time to get some fresh air and I’ll often pop into the Tate for some inspiration (escapism) whilst surrounded by creativity.

Last Friday in fact I popped in for just 15 mins to explore a section and came across: Babel 2001 – a Tower of radios by Cildo Meireles….


A beautiful blend of old and new radios all tuned to different stations and playing to represent the world of information overload we live in. This really resonated with me and it was great to find a piece of artwork so aptly aligned with my recent thoughts.

With the constant battle for our attention, it’s high time to tune out the noise and find those quiet moments of escapism.

 

Leave a Reply

